All returning Singapore residents to serve 14-day self-isolation at dedicated facilities


SINGAPORE: All Singapore citizens, permanent residents and long term pass holders entering Singapore from any country will be required to serve a 14-day self-isolation at dedicated stay-home notice facilities.

This takes effect at 11.59pm on Thursday (Apr 9), the Ministry of Health (MOH) said in a statement on Wednesday. 

This is a further expansion of the enhanced stay-home notice requirements for travellers returning to Singapore, MOH said.

Singapore authorities first required returnees from the United Kingdom and United States to serve a 14-day self-isolation at dedicated stay-home notice facilities. 

This was subsequently expanded to returnees from ASEAN countries, France, India and Switzerland.

“We have since stepped up capacity, and are now able to accommodate fresh returnees from all countries. 

“Nevertheless, if there are unexpected capacity constraints (eg. due to a larger than expected number of returnees), we may prioritise the dedicated stay-home notice facilities for returnees from certain regions or countries, based on risk assessment. Returnees who are already back in Singapore will continue to serve their 14-day stay-home notice at their current location,” MOH said. 

As previously announced, all returnees who disregarded prevailing travel advisories and left Singapore from Mar 27 would be required to bear the full cost of their 14-day stay-home notice at dedicated facilities.

In the first expansion of the stay-home notice requirements on Apr 4, MOH said that the dedicated SHN facilities “are not just about the provision of hotel rooms” – it also works with hotel operators to provide training for staff, put in place proper security arrangements, as well as infection control and precautions.

At the time, MOH said that it did not have enough to accommodate all returnees as it takes time to get such facilities ready, and thus prioritised the facilities for those returning from ASEAN countries, France, India and Switzerland.

The countries listed then were chosen based on MOH’s assessment of risks and the history of imported cases in Singapore.

BOOKMARK THIS: Our comprehensive coverage of the coronavirus outbreak and its developments

Download our app or subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest updates on the coronavirus outbreak:


Articles You May Like

WHO continues hydroxychloroquine trial after UK test halts
Please queue here: UK parliament votes on ending special coronavirus measures
Facebook staffers walk out saying Trump’s posts should be reined in like Twitter
COVID-19: Singapore launches drive-through test site for ‘priority groups’
India’s urban COVID-19 outbreak is morphing into a rural health crisis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *